This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Bot should display something in 2 lines

Requests for complete scripts or modifications/fixes for scripts you didn't write. Response not guaranteed, and no thread bumping!
Post Reply
d
darton
Op
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:03 am

Bot should display something in 2 lines

Post by darton »

Hello!
I have installed some scripts for my bot. But how is it possible that the bot does not display everything in one line but in two or three or anything like that.
Here an example:
(15:46:25) (@Darton) !hello
(15:46:29) (@Bot) The Bot says hello to Darton.
(15:46:30) (@Bot) What's up?
(15:46:31) (@Bot) How did you sleep?
...
How is it possible to make a line break?
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Edit the script you're using.
d
darton
Op
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:03 am

Post by darton »

Nice help. But what do I have to change? Look at this script:

Code: Select all

bind pub - !aeg aeg
proc aeg {nick host hand chan rest} {
   puthelp "privmsg $chan :aaaaaaaaaaeeeeeeeeggggggggg"
}
What do I have to change that it is displayed like this:
(@Darton) !aeg
(@Bot) aaaaaaaaaa
(@Bot) eeeeeeee
(@Bot) ggggggggg
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

darton wrote:Nice help.
That's the nice help you get when you provide "nice" information about your problem.

Eggdrop does not split the text. My only explanation for what's happening with your bot is that the network it's on might be splitting the text or you have some proc that's overriding the original eggdrop puthelp queue (do you?).
d
darton
Op
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:03 am

Post by darton »

Neither the network it's on might be splitting nor I have some procs that overrides the original puthelp queue as far as I know.
So it is not possible to make a line break?
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Wait a minute, I maybe got you wrong. You want it to display
(@Bot) aaaaaaaaaa
(@Bot) eeeeeeee
(@Bot) ggggggggg
instead of
(@Bot) aaaaaaaaaaeeeeeeeeggggggggg
?

Then add several puthelp lines to do so, it's as simple as that. or you can use a foreach loop, for example:

Code: Select all

set text {"aaaaaaaaaa" "eeeeeeee" "ggggggggg"}
foreach word $text {
 puthelp "privmsg $chan :$word"
}
d
darton
Op
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:03 am

Post by darton »

You are right Sir_Fz. Thank you very much. There is a little delay but I think this the delay is unrecoverable.
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

You can use a faster queue (i.e. putserv or putquick) instead of puthelp.
Post Reply