This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

compiling error

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
J
Jan
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:57 pm

compiling error

Post by Jan »

HELP! I can't compile!

Code: Select all

$ make eggdrop
make[1]: Entering directory `/eggdrop1.6.17/src'
This may take a while. Go get some runts.

gcc -pipe -mwin32 -g -O2 -Wall -I.. -I.. -DHAVE_CONFIG_H   -c bg.c
In file included from main.h:95,
                 from bg.c:27:
proto.h:133: error: conflicting types for 'dprintf'
/usr/include/stdio.h:232: error: previous declaration of 'dprintf' was here
proto.h:133: error: conflicting types for 'dprintf'
/usr/include/stdio.h:232: error: previous declaration of 'dprintf' was here
make[1]: *** [bg.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/eggdrop1.6.17/src'
make: *** [modegg] Error 2
User avatar
YooHoo
Owner
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:07 pm
Location: Redwood Coast

Post by YooHoo »

make eggdrop is not correct, please refer to Setting Up Your Eggdrop for exact directions :mrgreen:
User avatar
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by Alchera »

YooHoo wrote:make eggdrop is not correct, please refer to Setting Up Your Eggdrop for exact directions :mrgreen:
If compiling a Windrop (using cygwin) then "make eggdrop" is correct. :)
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search | FAQ | RTM
J
Jan
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:57 pm

Post by Jan »

yeah I finaly used an already compiled windrop. But I dropped the project because it wouldn't run any scripts.
c
cache
Master
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:59 am
Location: Mass

Post by cache »

You gave up that easy?? It's not even hard to add a script in to the script folder, read header, put the script name in eggdrop.conf and restart.
User avatar
De Kus
Revered One
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by De Kus »

if he already has cygwin set up there should be no script for eggdrop that doesnt run on windows (unless its a sys stats script or similar).
De Kus
StarZ|De_Kus, De_Kus or DeKus on IRC
Copyright © 2005-2009 by De Kus - published under The MIT License
Love hurts, love strengthens...
J
Jan
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:57 pm

Post by Jan »

cache wrote:You gave up that easy?? It's not even hard to add a script in to the script folder, read header, put the script name in eggdrop.conf and restart.
yeah I did all that. when I start the windrop it says ssome scripts require http2.4 when its 2.5 that I have... some stuff like that.
User avatar
sKy
Op
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by sKy »

Got the same error like the thread starter and i don`t want to give up so fast. Used this page for instructions http://windrop.sourceforge.net/compile16.html

I guess i am not alone with this bug:
http://www.eggheads.org/pipermail/bugs/ ... 00902.html

Do someone know where the answer to this report can be found?
socketapi | Code less, create more.
J
Jan
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:57 pm

Post by Jan »

use the compiled version...
User avatar
sKy
Op
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by sKy »

This is not a solution for my problem. I want to compile it myself this shouln`t be impossible. The forums purpose is to help each other and to solve problems, isn`t it.

To kill a disease you won`t kill the hole patient? (adage)
socketapi | Code less, create more.
User avatar
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by Alchera »

As near as I can tell it may be the new release of cygwin that is the culprit. The instructions you have followed are indeed correct.

Note also that I am quite certain I have seen the error (BarkerJr) posted (recently) by a Debian user.

I have never had problems compiling Windrop with version Cygwin DLL 1.5.12.
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search | FAQ | RTM
User avatar
sKy
Op
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by sKy »

Ok, i want to try Cygwin DLL 1.5.12.

I just need to install 'Latest Cygwin DLL release version is 1.5.19-4' from http://cygwin.com/ and exchange the dll to your version?

Or do i need to install the hole old version?

Where can i get the old version. I found only the new version more then enugh times.
socketapi | Code less, create more.
User avatar
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by Alchera »

I'd have to search my DVD's/CD's; I may have a copy of the original. I wouldn't hold my breathe ... De Kus could still have that older installer.
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search | FAQ | RTM
User avatar
BarkerJr
Op
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:25 am
Contact:

Post by BarkerJr »

I believe the problem is that you installed Tcl. It's critical that you follow the instructions to the word. Don't ask me why, but the current versions of Cygwin aren't easy use with Eggdrop as they were last year.

http://windrop.sourceforge.net/compile16.html

You do have to install Make, too.
User avatar
sKy
Op
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by sKy »

Normally i don`t act like i was born yesterday. Maybe stupid question:
Download and install Cygwin, with the default base packages and the following additional packages:
-autoconf
-automake
-binutils
-GCC
I download the cygwin setup exe and start it. I click
unlock 'Hide obsolte and administative packages'
All --> install
lock 'Install thease packages to meet dependencies (RECOMMENDED)
-->
As long i know this will install all packages; about 1GB but i have a big harddisk and don`t really care much about; the wanted packages should be included then?

'Make sure the default Tcl version include with Cygwin isn't installed.'
Yes, I have
actice tcl 8.4.12.0 and
tcl dev kit 3.2
installed.
-->
System controll --> software --> uninstall --> i remove it there and delete the tcl dir from my harddisk? = uninstalled?
Or is it enugh if i have tcl not started since last reboot? I thoght standard tcl won`t load start any dll`s as long it`s not started.
socketapi | Code less, create more.
Post Reply