This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

wierd characters when dcc chatting

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
Post Reply
D
DanielC
Voice
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:13 am

wierd characters when dcc chatting

Post by DanielC »

I've just set up my partyline on the most recent eggdrop version. When I initiate the dccchat all is fine. But the text appears weird. A small portion of what it does is
-09:17:57- (Bob) Hey [1mDaniel![0m My name is [1mBob[0m and I am running [1meggdrop v1.6.18[0m, on [1mFreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE-security[0m.
-09:17:57- (Bob)
-09:17:57- (Bob) Local time is now [1m09:15[0m
-09:17:57- (Bob) You are an owner of this bot. Only +n users can see this! For more info,
-09:17:57- (Bob) see [1m.help set motd[0m. Please edit the [1mmotd[0m file in your bot's 'text'
-09:17:57- (Bob) directory.
-09:17:57- (Bob) Use [1m.help[0m for basic help.
-09:17:57- (Bob) Use [1m.help <command>[0m for help on a specific command.
-09:17:57- (Bob) Use [1m.help all[0m to get a full command list.
-09:17:57- (Bob) Use [1m.help *somestring*[0m to list any help texts containing "somestring".
Is there something I'm missing? thanks in advaned for any help.
h
hotrs
Voice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:51 am

Post by hotrs »

try

Code: Select all

.fixcodes
in the chat console.

But I still search a way to modify it permanent ...

hth,
hotrs
D
DanielC
Voice
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:13 am

Post by DanielC »

Thanks hotrs. Worked like a charm.
User avatar
Fire-Fox
Master
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Fire-Fox »

Code: Select all

.fixcodes
Did not work for me :(
GreatZ
Fire-Fox | Denmark

Scripts: Relay | Store Text | TvMaze
n
nml375
Revered One
Posts: 2860
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:09 pm

Post by nml375 »

@Fire-fox: with some older eggies you might have to use the command twice in a row due to a bug (only applies to ansi/mirc-style controlcodes).

@hotrs: you could use the chon binding and call *dcc:fixcodes manually, with something like this (also adds a new dcc command, fixme, to toggle auto-switching on a user basis).

Code: Select all

bind chon - * DoFixcodes
proc DoFixcodes {hand idx} {
 if {[getuser $hand XTRA fixcodes] == 1} {
  *dcc:fixcodes $hand $idx ""
 }
}

bind dcc - fixme DccFixcodes
proc DccFixcodes {hand idx txt} {
 if {[getuser $hand XTRA fixcodes] == 1} {
  setuser $hand XTRA fixcodes 0
  *dcc:fixcodes $hand $idx $txt
 } {
  setuser $hand XTRA fixcodes 1
  *dcc:fixcodes $hand $idx $txt
 }
}
Last edited by nml375 on Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
NML_375
User avatar
Fire-Fox
Master
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Fire-Fox »

should this just be placed in a .tcl and load it?
GreatZ
Fire-Fox | Denmark

Scripts: Relay | Store Text | TvMaze
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Yes, just like any other Tcl script.
User avatar
Fire-Fox
Master
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Fire-Fox »

Okay thanks :)
GreatZ
Fire-Fox | Denmark

Scripts: Relay | Store Text | TvMaze
User avatar
Fire-Fox
Master
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Fire-Fox »

hey

mayby im lost here :)

But i have loaded the script. and nothing happens when the bot rehash?

mayby im missing something here?
GreatZ
Fire-Fox | Denmark

Scripts: Relay | Store Text | TvMaze
n
nml375
Revered One
Posts: 2860
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:09 pm

Post by nml375 »

@fire-fox: Use the .fixme command that's added to toggle whether you'd like the .fixcodes command to be issued automatically upon connect. Also, be advised that this script was not written to counter the bug mentioned earlier, but as a response to hotrs' query to automate the process.. Hence, if you do suffer from this bug, you'll still have to use the .fixcodes command manually.
NML_375
User avatar
Fire-Fox
Master
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Fire-Fox »

Hey

thanks for the reply :)

But why the messed up text. haven't had this issue before i used eggdrop. but i didn't use SSL that time. could it have something to do with that?
GreatZ
Fire-Fox | Denmark

Scripts: Relay | Store Text | TvMaze
n
nml375
Revered One
Posts: 2860
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:09 pm

Post by nml375 »

@Fire-fox:
It is most likely caused by that, yes.
Telnet clients and mIRC (and the likes) uses completely different controlcodes for bold, underline, etc. Telnet uses Ansi escape sequences wherease mirc uses single character controlcodes. Eggdrop does it best to try and guess whether you are connecting through telnet or dcc chat, and uses controlcodes based on that. Obviously, sometimes eggies get this wrong, and you see junk. That's what the .fixcodes command is there for.
NML_375
User avatar
Fire-Fox
Master
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Fire-Fox »

@nml375

Thanks for the reply :)
GreatZ
Fire-Fox | Denmark

Scripts: Relay | Store Text | TvMaze
Post Reply