This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Another DCC Chat question

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
Post Reply
a
avggeek
Voice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:10 am
Location: Singapore

Another DCC Chat question

Post by avggeek »

Unfortunately I've had to throw up my hands in defeat and ask yet another question about getting DCC Chat working.

I currently connect to IRC using ChatZilla from behind a transparent proxy (opening ports on the proxy is not an option). I am connecting to the Freenode network. I have been able to successfully initiate private chats with other users on the channel, but so far not with the bot.

Here are all the details I have been able to collect so far:

The Help Us to Help You thread suggested I try to get the bot to initiate a chat to me using /CTCP <Botname> Chat. Before I try that, the thread suggests checking three things:

Bot has it's IP address right - I have the following entries in my .conf file:

Code: Select all

set my-hostname "unixguru.us"
set my-ip "69.90.127.132"
Running a reverse IP lookup shows that my setup does resolve properly.

There isn't a firewall issue - I ran a sockstats command when the bot is still running from the shell and I get the following output:

Code: Select all

-bash-2.05b$ sockstat -4 -l
USER     COMMAND    PID   FD PROTO  LOCAL ADDRESS         FOREIGN ADDRESS
technoba eggdrop- 67766    3 tcp4   69.90.127.132:51112   *:*
technoba eggdrop- 67766    4 udp4   *:3795                *:*
technoba eggdrop- 67766    5 udp4   *:4229                *:*
I do know the first connection on port 51112 is the Bot telnet connection. The other UDP ports i assume are for DCC, based on my limited google-fu in this regard.

Is the bot behind a NAT - I ran ifconfig on my shell host account and this is the output:

Code: Select all

-bash-2.05b$ ifconfig
rl0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        inet 69.90.127.130 netmask 0xffffff80 broadcast 69.90.127.255
        inet6 fe80::20d:61ff:fe6e:957f%rl0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
        inet 69.90.127.131 netmask 0xffffffff broadcast 69.90.127.131
        inet [b]69.90.127.132[/b] netmask 0xffffffff broadcast 69.90.127.132
The above seems to suggest to me that the bot is not behind a NAT.

In searching on the forums, I realized that users can initiate private chats on freenode only if they are registered, so I added the "Chanservneed" script to the conf file. Monitoring the bot connection via ./eggdrop -nt shows the following:

Code: Select all

[23:32:36] chanservneed: [Status] sending password to NickServ
[23:32:36] -NOTICE- *** Your host is kubrick.freenode.net[kubrick.freenode.net/6667], running version hyperion-1.0.2b
[23:32:36] -NickServ (NickServ@services.)- This nickname is owned by someone else
[23:32:36] -NickServ (NickServ@services.)- If this is your nickname, type /msg NickServ IDENTIFY <password>
[23:32:36] CTCP VERSION:  from freenode-connect (freenode@freenode/bot/connect)
[23:32:38] -NickServ (NickServ@services.)- Password accepted - you are now recognized
Since the channel is +m, I have autovoice on as well:

Code: Select all

[23:32:47] #tb-bottest: mode change '+v babble_bot' by ChanServ!ChanServ@services.
I am trying to chat with the bot using a registered account named balaji_dutt. When I send /ctcp <botname> chat, this is what I see via telnet:

Code: Select all

[23:35:55] CTCP CHAT:  from balaji_dutt (n=chatzill@202.176.196.196)
after this nothing happens. Typing /dcc-accept in Chatzilla says 0 incoming requests.

The bot can even see my commands in the party-line:

Code: Select all

[00:24:12] [balaji_dutt!n=chatzill@202.176.196.196] .help
Again no response from the bot.
I have my bot.user file set up as follows for this account:

Code: Select all

balaji_dutt - fjlmnoptvx              
--HOSTS !*@*
--XTRA created 1207124938
As you can see there is no password and no host restriction.

At this point, I'm not sure what else to check so anyone who has any advice - I'd be most grateful!
User avatar
strikelight
Owner
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2002 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: Another DCC Chat question

Post by strikelight »

balaji wrote: The bot can even see my commands in the party-line:

Code: Select all

[00:24:12] [balaji_dutt!n=chatzill@202.176.196.196] .help
Again no response from the bot.
This is probably simply the bot relaying what is privately messaged to him, that is not actually a user entering information on the partyline.
blaji wrote: I have my bot.user file set up as follows for this account:

Code: Select all

balaji_dutt - fjlmnoptvx              
--HOSTS !*@*
--XTRA created 1207124938
As you can see there is no password and no host restriction.
You will not be able to chat your bot without a password set. You must message your bot and set a password first. ie. /msg <bot> pass <pass>

Also, your hostmask is incorrect... Hostmasks are of the form <nick>!<ident>@<host> .... You are missing the nick portion... You may want *!*@*, but as another note... this is highly insecure to set such a powerful user account to such a host.
a
avggeek
Voice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:10 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Another DCC Chat question

Post by avggeek »

strikelight wrote: You will not be able to chat your bot without a password set. You must message your bot and set a password first. ie. /msg <bot> pass <pass>

Also, your hostmask is incorrect... Hostmasks are of the form <nick>!<ident>@<host> .... You are missing the nick portion... You may want *!*@*, but as another note... this is highly insecure to set such a powerful user account to such a host.
Thanks for pointing out the problem! Once I fixed the hostmask the bot started responding :). The open mask was because I was getting a little frustrated and so was trying to get the bot to respond. I'll fix it now - although I do have one question - are host masks independent of users? So for example, if I use CZ at work and mIRC at home I could set up 2 masks for each?
Scratch that - I think my understanding of masks was off - atleast about the username portion.

Now if I could only get those wierd ANSI colour codes out of the way - I would be all set :)
Last edited by avggeek on Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
strikelight
Owner
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2002 10:39 am
Contact:

Post by strikelight »

If you used /ctcp <bot> chat, then simply type .fixcodes in the partyline.

And yes, you may have multiple hosts for a user record. See .help, .help +host, .help -host, .help whois in the partyline.
a
avggeek
Voice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:10 am
Location: Singapore

Post by avggeek »

strikelight wrote:If you used /ctcp <bot> chat, then simply type .fixcodes in the partyline.

And yes, you may have multiple hosts for a user record. See .help, .help +host, .help -host, .help whois in the partyline.
Thanks once again for the fixcode tip - that fixed it :P

I've just corrected the hostmask problem - now TCL scripts!
Post Reply