This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.
For more information, see this announcement post . Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.
General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:22 pm
Everything compiles without error, including the modules. The modules load without error. However, every connection attempt fails during DNS lookup.
What am I missing?
Respectfully,
Raven
iamdeath
Master
Posts: 323 Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 2:32 pm
Location: *HeLL*
Contact:
Post
by iamdeath » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:27 pm
try using server you're connecting to with ip not host.
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:30 pm
iamdeath wrote: try using server you're connecting to with ip not host.
Thanks for the reply, IAD.
That's only a way around the problem. I could also comment out the loadmodule statement entirely. However, both of these solutions cripple the bot's responsiveness.
Besides, the module should work as intended, or it wouldn't have been included in the package. I would like to find and fix the problem rather than cripple the bot.
Any suggestions?
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344 Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:
Post
by Alchera » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:51 pm
# If you're using virtual hosting (your machine has more than 1 IP), you
# may want to specify the particular IP to bind to. You can specify either
# by hostname or by IP. You may also want to set the hostname here if
# Eggdrop has trouble detecting it when it starts up.
#set my-hostname "virtual.host.com"
#set my-ip "99.99.0.0"
Have you set the above?
You could also post a more descriptive error message.
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search |
FAQ |
RTM
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:45 am
Alchera, this is what I see when I start eggdrop with the -n switch. The last 3 lines continue to repeat until I terminate the process.
Code: Select all
Eggdrop v1.6.18 (C) 1997 Robey Pointer (C) 2006 Eggheads
[00:38] Allocated bind table unld (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table time (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table note (flags 0)
[00:38] Allocated bind table nkch (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table load (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table link (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table filt (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table disc (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table dcc (flags 0)
[00:38] Allocated bind table chpt (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table chon (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table chof (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table chjn (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table chat (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table bot (flags 0)
[00:38] Allocated bind table bcst (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table away (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table act (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table evnt (flags 1)
[00:38] --- Loading eggdrop v1.6.18 (Fri Mar 23 2007)
[00:38] Module loaded: dns
[00:38] Module loaded: channels
[00:38] Allocated bind table wall (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table raw (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table notc (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table msgm (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table msg (flags 0)
[00:38] Allocated bind table flud (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table ctcr (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table ctcp (flags 1)
[00:38] Module loaded: server
[00:38] Module loaded: ctcp
[00:38] Allocated bind table topc (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table splt (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table sign (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table rejn (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table part (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table nick (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table mode (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table kick (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table join (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table pubm (flags 1)
[00:38] Allocated bind table pub (flags 0)
[00:38] Allocated bind table need (flags 1)
[00:38] Module loaded: irc
[00:38] LANG: Section loaded: console
[00:38] LANG: 10 messages of 15 lines loaded from ./language/console.english.lang
[00:38] LANG: 10 adds, 0 updates to message table
[00:38] Module loaded: console (with lang support)
[00:38] Module loaded: seen
[00:38] Module loaded: blowfish
[00:38] Userinfo TCL v1.07 loaded (URL BF GF IRL EMAIL DOB PHONE ICQ).
[00:38] use '.help userinfo' for commands.
[00:38] === ravenspet: 0 channels, 0 users.
[00:38] main: entering loop
[00:38] Trying server irc.efnet.org:6667
[00:39] DNS resolve failed for irc.efnet.org
[00:39] Failed connect to irc.efnet.org (DNS lookup failed)
[00:39] Trying server irc.efnet.org:6667
[00:39] DNS resolve failed for irc.efnet.org
[00:39] Failed connect to irc.efnet.org (DNS lookup failed)
[00:40] Trying server irc.efnet.org:6667
[00:40] DNS resolve failed for irc.efnet.org
[00:40] Failed connect to irc.efnet.org (DNS lookup failed)
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:03 am
Same results from .console +rv command in telnet:
Code: Select all
*** ravensgrace joined the party line.
[01:00] Trying server irc.efnet.org:6667
[01:00] Failed connect to irc.efnet.org (DNS lookup failed)
[01:00] #ravensgrace# console +rv
Set your console to *: mkcobxs (msgs, kicks/modes, cmds, mi
er).
[01:01] Trying server irc.efnet.org:6667
[01:01] Failed connect to irc.efnet.org (DNS lookup failed)
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344 Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:
Post
by Alchera » Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:05 am
It appears irc.efnet.org is offline. Try any of the following:
irc.efnet.us - random US
irc.efnet.ca - random CA
irc.efnet.eu - random EU
EFnet Server Information
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search |
FAQ |
RTM
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:46 am
Same results.
I can connect fine with irc. The errors are occurring during lookup, and those addresses all resolve fine.
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344 Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:
Post
by Alchera » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:11 am
ravensgrace wrote: Same results.
I can connect fine with irc. The errors are occurring during lookup, and those addresses all resolve fine.
You connect via an IRC client to a Network from your own box? The eggdrop is on a shell account?
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search |
FAQ |
RTM
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:33 am
Both are on my box.
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794 Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:
Post
by Sir_Fz » Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:27 am
This issue has been discussed many times before, check out the
search results .
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:48 am
Actually, posting was my last resort. I searched the forums first, and I tried a google search. None of the suggestions I found resolved the problem. I guess I shall keep looking elsewhere. Thanks, everyone, for trying to help.
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344 Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:
Post
by Alchera » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:41 pm
Re-compile your eggdrop (latest source) ensuring all the necessary packages are available and that may just fix itself.
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search |
FAQ |
RTM
DragnLord
Owner
Posts: 711 Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:58 pm
Location: C'ville, Virginia, USA
Post
by DragnLord » Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:30 am
sounds to me like you need to check your resolv.conf
prg0906
Voice
Posts: 12 Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am
Post
by prg0906 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 9:09 am
DL, that was the first place I looked, even before searching, and my correct nameserver is present. (I couldn't reach this site if all my lookups failed.
)
I'm downloading fresh sources as I type, and recompiling as suggested.