This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Problem with the configure file

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
G
Guest

Post by Guest »

I've never ran a BOT before and I'm so close to getting this to work. I installed and compiled tcl 8.3.4 and now I'm trying to use the ./configure command in eggdrop but it keeps detecting tcl version 6.7 and says my version is to old. The path for the tcllib and tclinc are NOT correct in the configure file. I change the configure file and it says it can't locate the files. Here's a copy of the part I'm trying to edit. The full path name to the tcl directory is:

/afs/domainame/users/11/25/myusername/tcl

myusername I assume would be my root directory.

Here's how I modified the configure file. What am I missing here?

# Defaults:
ac_help=
ac_default_prefix=/usr/local
# Any additions from configure.in:
ac_default_prefix=${HOME}/eggdrop
egg_ac_parameters="$*"
ac_help="$ac_help
--with-tcllib=~/tcl/lib"
ac_help="$ac_help
--with-tclinc=~/tcl/include"
ac_help="$ac_help
--disable-tcl-threads Disable threaded tcl support if detected. (Ignore this option unless you know what you are doing)"





p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

There is no need to directly modify the configure script, as this make things harder later on.

You should use the --with-tclinc and --with-tcllib on the command line, rather than in the file.

eg
./configure --with-tclinc=~/tcl/include --with-tcllib=~/tcl/lib
Somtimes, this does not allways work, so you could specify the actual files on the command like
./configure --with-tclinc=~/tcl/include/tcl.h --with-tcllib=~/tcl/lib/tcllib8.3.so
Also, on some systems, they do no follow the directories corectly, so you must specify the full path to the directories, rather that the quick ~ method of showing home.
G
Guest

Post by Guest »

That didn't work either. Here's what got after I ran configure.

configure: warning:

The file '/afs/domain/users/11/25/username/tcl/lib' given to option --with-tcllib is not valid.

configure will now attempt to autodetect both the Tcl library and header...

configure: warning:

The file '' given to option --with-tclinc is not valid.

configure will now attempt to autodetect both the Tcl library and header...

checking for Tcl library... using /lib
checking for Tcl header... using /
checking whether the tcl system has changed... yes
checking for Tcl version...
checking for Tcl patch level...
configure: error:

Your Tcl version is much too old for eggdrop to use. I suggest you download and complie a more recent version. The most reliable current version is 8.3.3 and can be downloaded from ftp://ftp.eggheads.org/pub/tcl/tcl8_3/



<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: kcidwx on 2001-11-12 16:42 ]</font>
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

re-read my post carfully. It staes that you supplied in improper file, or a file that did not exist. In my post, I said some systems may require that you use the full path and filenames.

Note: It may also be helpful if you post the exact line you are typing for ./configure, as it would help in the process of helping you.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: ppslim on 2001-11-12 17:35 ]</font>
g
guppy
eggdrop engineer
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by guppy »

You must use a full path and full filename when using --with-tcl* also, you'll need to export LD_LIBRARY_PATH to the full path of where your libtcl is -- this should go into your profile so that it is set each time before you login.
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

guppy, you need to change the "./configure --help" message then, as it only specifies that a path is required, and not "full path and filename"
Locked