This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Tcl error [pub:news]: invalid command name ""

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
z
zichta

Tcl error [pub:news]: invalid command name ""

Post by zichta »

hi, i cant find the error, plz help me :(

Code: Select all

bind pub - !news pub:news

proc pub:news { nick user handle channel arg  } {
    set url http://www.incorruptible.de/irc/irc_news.php
    set tag news
    set file news.tmp

    put_cpu $url $tag $file $channel
}

proc put_cpu { url tag file channel } {
    if { $channel!="#ic.news" &&
	$channel!="#incorruptible.intern" } { return 1 }

    exec lynx -preparsed -dump $url > $file
    set f [open "$file" r]

    set first 1
    set tmp ""
    while { [eof $f] != 1 } {
	set l "[gets $f]"
	set tmp "$tmp$l"
	if { [string first </$tag> $tmp] != -1  } {
	    set out "[string range $tmp [expr [string first <$tag> $tmp] + [string length $tag] + 2 ] [expr [string first </$tag> $tmp] -1 ]]"
	    set out [fulltrim $out]

	    if { $first == "1" } {
		putquick "PRIVMSG $channel :\003$out"
		set first 0
	    } else {
		putquick "PRIVMSG $channel :\003[string range $out 0 0]\003[string range $out 1 [string length $out]]"
	    }
	    set tmp "[string range $tmp [expr [string first </$tag> $tmp] + [string length $tag] + 3 ] [string length $tmp] ]"
	}	
    }
    close $f
}

proc fulltrim { tmp  } {
    while { [string first "  " $tmp] != -1  } {
	regsub -all "  " $tmp " " tmp
    }
    return [string trim $tmp]
}

putlog "News 1.0 Loaded"
on type "!news", telnet prints "Tcl error [pub:news]: invalid command name """

- chmod is 777 on news.tmp
- the url works fine
- lynx works
- news.tmp was writed

cu
M
MC_8
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 5:04 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas
Contact:

Post by MC_8 »

Find out what line is giving the error.
Throw some putlog "Got this far, continuing..."'s at every other line to see where it stops. This will help you narrow it down.
Carl M. Gregory - MC_8
http://mc.purehype.net/whois/
z
zichta

Post by zichta »

how does it works ? :/
User avatar
user
&nbsp;
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: Norway

Post by user »

How does what work?
Don't tell me you wrote this script when you don't know what putlog is or know how to find out (hint: tcl-commands.doc)

You did not show us the entire error message btw...maybe we would be able to tell you more if you did.
M
MC_8
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 5:04 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas
Contact:

Post by MC_8 »

How does putlog work? Umm, it puts information to the 'o' dcc console.
See tcl-commands.doc for a better explination.

Basically, if you have

Code: Select all

bla1
putlog "checkpoint 1"
bla2
putlog "checkpoint 2"
bla3
putlog "checkpoint 3"
And in DCC it shows:
checkpoint 1
checkpoint 2
ERROR ...

We know the error is a line between 2 and 3. 2 was the last displayed... so the error is "bla3". Once you figure out what line the error is in, you can find it easier :)
Carl M. Gregory - MC_8
http://mc.purehype.net/whois/
Locked