This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

annoying problem

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
B
BrollY
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Location: H07 L471N4 L4ND (Puerto Rico)

annoying problem

Post by BrollY »

proc marbi:arbi {nick host hand text} {
if {[isop $nick \#channel] == "1"} {
set cmd "[string tolower [lindex $text 0]]"
if {$cmd == "add"} {
<does something>
}
if {$cmd == "rem" || $cmd == "remove"} {
<does something>
}
if {$cmd == "list"} {
<does something>
} else {
<does something>
}
}
}
}
ok this is the thing, it used to work just fine last night. the tcl would give errors elsewhere, i fixed the mistake and now this area decided to kick in. this is the error message im getting
wrong # of args: should be "proc name args body"
while executing
blah blah blah blah
then it just pastes that same block of code at the first quote. wat the heck is wrong with it???? ive tried using $args, also $arg but nuthin works at all.

thx for the help in advanced
Yo momma's so fat she can be in the past, present, n future all at once
User avatar
user
&nbsp;
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: Norway

Post by user »

Paste the part with the error in (it's not in the code you pasted (there's one } too many at the end though))
Have you ever read "The Manual"?
B
BrollY
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Location: H07 L471N4 L4ND (Puerto Rico)

Post by BrollY »

i took off one extra } and it still gives me the same error
Yo momma's so fat she can be in the past, present, n future all at once
User avatar
user
&nbsp;
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: Norway

Post by user »

BrollY wrote:i took off one extra } and it still gives me the same error
..and? You failed to post the part with the error in it once more. :-?
Have you ever read "The Manual"?
B
BrollY
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Location: H07 L471N4 L4ND (Puerto Rico)

Post by BrollY »

i already told ya, the message that mentions where the erorr is already in the very first post, look at the second quote.

the "blah blah blah" is
then it just pastes that same block of code at the first quote. wat the heck is wrong with it???? ive tried using $args, also $arg but nuthin works at all.
i just wrote "blah blah blah" as not to spam with the SAME THING that the first quote i wrote says
Yo momma's so fat she can be in the past, present, n future all at once
User avatar
user
&nbsp;
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: Norway

Post by user »

You didn't paste the whole script, did you? The error must be in the parts where you wrote '<does something>' (a "{" too many)
Have you ever read "The Manual"?
B
BrollY
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Location: H07 L471N4 L4ND (Puerto Rico)

Post by BrollY »

no i checked, i deleted the whole thing except for the first few lines
proc marbi:arbi {nick host hand text} {
if {[isop $nick \#channel] == "1"} {
return 0
}
}
i added the "return 0" there to substitute everything else, and STILL gives the SAME error.
Yo momma's so fat she can be in the past, present, n future all at once
User avatar
user
&nbsp;
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: Norway

Post by user »

Did you edit the right file? Is that the exact code you're trying to load now? The above code would not generate the error you mentioned earlier. Please post your entire proc or the entire error message. (after making sure you loaded the right script)
Have you ever read "The Manual"?
B
BrollY
Voice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Location: H07 L471N4 L4ND (Puerto Rico)

Post by BrollY »

lets put it this way, i deleted EVERYTHING in the file (its correct cuz i havent even closed it for the pas 36 hours), and i wrote exactly wat i posted previously, and tried loading it, and i got the same error.
Yo momma's so fat she can be in the past, present, n future all at once
User avatar
user
&nbsp;
Posts: 1452
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: Norway

Post by user »

Try adding a few linebreaks after the last } and make sure you save the file before reloading it ;P and PLEASE post the entire error message if it still doesn't work.
Have you ever read "The Manual"?
Locked