This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Does eggdrop work with only HalfOp?

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
M
Myst3K
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:30 am

Does eggdrop work with only HalfOp?

Post by Myst3K »

I just got my bot up and running, and was playing around with it in a room with a couple of people. I have a Nickserv TCL script, and an AutoVoice TCL script loaded on it. When the bot is OP, the autovoice script works, but when it is only HalfOp it doesnt work. The autovoice script is supposed to voice everyone that comes in the room. Is it possible with only being HalfOp?
k
kk-
Voice
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:31 am
Location: uk

Re: Does eggdrop work with only HalfOp?

Post by kk- »

Myst3K wrote:I just got my bot up and running, and was playing around with it in a room with a couple of people. I have a Nickserv TCL script, and an AutoVoice TCL script loaded on it. When the bot is OP, the autovoice script works, but when it is only HalfOp it doesnt work. The autovoice script is supposed to voice everyone that comes in the room. Is it possible with only being HalfOp?

Think you need to check your room levels looks like your halfops maybe not be able to voice people check that first... that the bot has access to voice with halfops...
M
Myst3K
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:30 am

Post by Myst3K »

The room levels are fine, as i can .voice <user>, and all the other halfops and i can voice users. It just doesnt seem to try autovoicing them when it is halfop. Could it be the AutoVoice Script?
User avatar
^DooM^
Owner
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: IronForge
Contact:

Post by ^DooM^ »

Check the script. if it says anywhere

Code: Select all

isop $botnick
then it is more than likley checking to make sure it has ops before it will give out voice. Halfops are relativly new and are rarley checked for especially on older scripts.

if it does say that piece of code in your script and you know your bot will only ever have halfop then change this

Code: Select all

isop
to this

Code: Select all

!isop
Hope this helps. :wink:
The lifecycle of a noob is complex. Fledgling noobs gestate inside biometric pods. Once a budding noob has matured thru gestation they climb out of their pod, sit down at a PC, ask a bunch of questions that are clearly in the FAQ, The Noob is born
M
Myst3K
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:30 am

Post by Myst3K »

Thanks, im sure that would have worked too, i just got it working right before you posted that reply. This is what i did, being i dont know anything about coding, i was reading alot of posts in here about halfops. I found in the autovoice script is had

Code: Select all

{![isop $botnick $c
so i changed it to

Code: Select all

{![ishalfop $botnick $c
i did that everywhere i found isop, and it works now, its not fully tested but its a start!
User avatar
^DooM^
Owner
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: IronForge
Contact:

Post by ^DooM^ »

Excelent I didnt know what the script was coded like but that will work also. Good on you for doing some research into it yourself. Not may people do that on here they just expect you to write it for them..

Here have an apple :D
The lifecycle of a noob is complex. Fledgling noobs gestate inside biometric pods. Once a budding noob has matured thru gestation they climb out of their pod, sit down at a PC, ask a bunch of questions that are clearly in the FAQ, The Noob is born
User avatar
awyeah
Revered One
Posts: 1580
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by awyeah »

You might want to use, this as it will not work for ops then, only halfops heh:

Code: Select all

{![isop $botnick $c] && ![ishalfop $botnick $c]} { return 0 }
{[isop $botnick $c] || [ishalfop $botnick $c]} {
 pushmode $c +o $nick
}
Not sure how the script works, but something like this should make it work for both ops and halfops.
·­awyeah·

==================================
Facebook: jawad@idsia.ch (Jay Dee)
PS: Guys, I don't accept script helps or requests personally anymore.
==================================
User avatar
^DooM^
Owner
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: IronForge
Contact:

Post by ^DooM^ »

awyeah wrote:You might want to use, this as it will not work for ops then, only halfops heh:

Code: Select all

{![isop $botnick $c] && ![ishalfop $botnick $c]} { return 0 }
{[isop $botnick $c] || [ishalfop $botnick $c]} {
 pushmode $c +o $nick
}
Not sure how the script works, but something like this should make it work for both ops and halfops.
Bot cant give ops if it only has halfops but your script is cool if you just want it for auto voicing (+v) people :)
The lifecycle of a noob is complex. Fledgling noobs gestate inside biometric pods. Once a budding noob has matured thru gestation they climb out of their pod, sit down at a PC, ask a bunch of questions that are clearly in the FAQ, The Noob is born
User avatar
awyeah
Revered One
Posts: 1580
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by awyeah »

I am not sure what we can define as halfop. Since I use bahamut, i.e. DALnet since the past 6-7years so I am not aware of halfop, halfvoice and those etc. Bahamut is plain and simple op, voice or none and no helper also.

If halfop can give voice, so can an a regular op? then what is the difference between an op and a halfop might I ask heh? Maybe halfops are restricted to setting specific chanel modes or so.
Bot cant give ops if it only has halfops but your script is cool if you just want it for auto voicing (+v) people
Obviously you can't give someone higher access than you. Its like logic someone with lower access cannot give higher access to someone else.

Well you can use bind pub if you want it to trigger some op or halfop to voice, a user or you can use bind join say if you want any active op or the bot itself to voice a user on join.
·­awyeah·

==================================
Facebook: jawad@idsia.ch (Jay Dee)
PS: Guys, I don't accept script helps or requests personally anymore.
==================================
User avatar
^DooM^
Owner
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: IronForge
Contact:

Post by ^DooM^ »

When you are a Halfop you can give people voice but not halfops or ops. You can kick users below halfop and also change the topic. Its just another flag to give your channel helpers a bit more power without risking your own security. :wink:
The lifecycle of a noob is complex. Fledgling noobs gestate inside biometric pods. Once a budding noob has matured thru gestation they climb out of their pod, sit down at a PC, ask a bunch of questions that are clearly in the FAQ, The Noob is born
Locked