This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Trying to make a "clanbot"

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
N
Neomaster
Voice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 5:24 pm

Trying to make a "clanbot"

Post by Neomaster »

I would like to start programming my own clanbot (to offer the service to many channels).

I use eggdrop 1.6.17 with mysqltcl.

One of my main question, is it possible to run the bot multiple time from one installation?

Like, get the bots Neobot[1] to Neobot[10] from one single installation / config script?

Also, is it possible to make the bot fetch the channels to perform in a mysql database?

Let say I have the table "channels_perform" which has the field "Bot_id" and "Channel"

Bot_Id - Channel
1 - #something
1 - #somethingelse
2- #else

Is it possible to make the bot fetch the channels to join in the database depending on its current id in the name?

Ex: on connect, Neobot[1] would fetch every channels in the table channels_perform where Bot_id = 1 and will join every channels there? (here it would join #something and #somethingelse)
User avatar
^DooM^
Owner
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: IronForge
Contact:

Re: Trying to make a "clanbot"

Post by ^DooM^ »

Neomaster wrote: One of my main question, is it possible to run the bot multiple time from one installation?

Like, get the bots Neobot[1] to Neobot[10] from one single installation / config script?
You only have to have one installation to run multiple bots but you will have to have a seperate eggdrop.conf for each bot.
Neomaster wrote: Also, is it possible to make the bot fetch the channels to perform in a mysql database?

Let say I have the table "channels_perform" which has the field "Bot_id" and "Channel"

Bot_Id - Channel
1 - #something
1 - #somethingelse
2- #else
This is not possible at this moment in time. I do belive Ofloo is currently working on a solution to use mysql for this very purpose.
Neomaster wrote: Is it possible to make the bot fetch the channels to join in the database depending on its current id in the name?

Ex: on connect, Neobot[1] would fetch every channels in the table channels_perform where Bot_id = 1 and will join every channels there? (here it would join #something and #somethingelse)
Again this isnt possible at present.

Check this thread for more details Click

;)
The lifecycle of a noob is complex. Fledgling noobs gestate inside biometric pods. Once a budding noob has matured thru gestation they climb out of their pod, sit down at a PC, ask a bunch of questions that are clearly in the FAQ, The Noob is born
User avatar
YooHoo
Owner
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:07 pm
Location: Redwood Coast

Post by YooHoo »

FAQ #24....you might wanna read the rest of those FAQ while you are there... :wink:
N
Neomaster
Voice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 5:24 pm

Post by Neomaster »

Thanks for the answers ;)

I think I'll remove the channels in the bot's perform list, and I'll try to make a small tcl script to fetch the channel list depending on the id of the bot.
G
Galadhrim
Op
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 8:38 am
Location: Netherlands, Enschede

Post by Galadhrim »

you can try to make symbolic links to 1 config file so like

eggdrop.conf
bot0.conf -> eggdrop.conf
bot1.conf -> eggdrop.conf
bot2.conf -> eggdrop.conf

That should work...
User avatar
^DooM^
Owner
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: IronForge
Contact:

Post by ^DooM^ »

Except they would all have the same userfile name, chanfile name, ports, botname and so on. May as well just use seperate configs.
The lifecycle of a noob is complex. Fledgling noobs gestate inside biometric pods. Once a budding noob has matured thru gestation they climb out of their pod, sit down at a PC, ask a bunch of questions that are clearly in the FAQ, The Noob is born
User avatar
De Kus
Revered One
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by De Kus »

you simply cannot run 2 bots with the same .pid file, except you delete it before starting the next bot. but why writing a script to define 10 nicknames, if you can simply create 10 files?
De Kus
StarZ|De_Kus, De_Kus or DeKus on IRC
Copyright © 2005-2009 by De Kus - published under The MIT License
Love hurts, love strengthens...
G
Galadhrim
Op
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 8:38 am
Location: Netherlands, Enschede

Post by Galadhrim »

ah yes you are right. The user files etc :)
Locked