This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Linking from the eggdrop 32 characters stuff

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
J
JohnDoe
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:09 pm

Linking from the eggdrop 32 characters stuff

Post by JohnDoe »

Hello,
Im having problems with linking my bots, my first 2 bots are really no problem and they work great, but i bought a new shell account,
and this one is making me hard to link the basterd :p

This is what happens after i add the bot on the hub and try to link them:

Telnet connection: ho0ker.org/1509
Non-matching handle lengths with BOT003, they use 32 characters.
Telnet connection: ho0ker.org/4382
Challenging BOT003...
Bad Password: [BOT003]xxxxx@ho0ker.org/4382

I already put the command "set nick-len 9" in the config file and tried
again, but this dont seem to work.

Any1 any idea how to fix this ? Have to put a pasw for the bot ?
how i have to do this ?

All help is welcome :)
Best regards.
John
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

you can link bots with equal HANDLEN only (a constant defined in eggdrop.h), so you'll probably want to recompile the bot that uses HANDLEN 32 with the new value of 9 (alternatively, you can recompile all other bots to use 32)
User avatar
KrzychuG
Master
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:51 pm
Location: Torun, Poland
Contact:

Post by KrzychuG »

I wonder why this limits are still in Eggdrop source code. It can be safely disabled and then allow to link bots with diffrent HANDLENS.
Que?
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

KrzychuG wrote:I wonder why this limits are still in Eggdrop source code. It can be safely disabled and then allow to link bots with diffrent HANDLENS.
far from safety; that will likely crash your bot when your HANDLEN 9 eggdrop try to link to another HANDLEN 32 bot where LamerLamer is on party-line, since that 10-character handle, after getting relayed through the botnet, will cause writing past the end of your handle buffer
User avatar
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by Alchera »

To remove the limit simply edit ~src/eggdrop.h and change the following line from:

Code: Select all

#define HANDLEN 9   /* valid values 9->NICKMAX  */
to:

Code: Select all

#define HANDLEN 32   /* valid values 9->NICKMAX  */
and then recompile.

You also change 'set nick-len 9' to 'set nick-len 32' in the bot conf.
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search | FAQ | RTM
User avatar
KrzychuG
Master
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:51 pm
Location: Torun, Poland
Contact:

Post by KrzychuG »

demond wrote:
KrzychuG wrote:I wonder why this limits are still in Eggdrop source code. It can be safely disabled and then allow to link bots with diffrent HANDLENS.
far from safety; that will likely crash your bot when your HANDLEN 9 eggdrop try to link to another HANDLEN 32 bot where LamerLamer is on party-line, since that 10-character handle, after getting relayed through the botnet, will cause writing past the end of your handle buffer
No, they won't crash. At least not 1.6.16 and newest. Bot with HANDLEN9 will cut some chars, that's all. You can relay to that bot using longer nickname, you can share userfile. No problem at all.

Code: Select all

23:10:31   [15]  <-+BPShirase   (31 Aug 18:11) 15 Evangeline v1.1.2 2005/06/28 B1 <IRCnet>
23:10:31   [20]  <-+Evangeline  (01 Sep 23:03) 10 Evangeline v1.1.2 2005/06/28 B1 <IRCnet>
As you see BPShirase have HANDLEN set to 15, Evangeline have it set to 10.

Code: Select all

I am BPShirase, running Evangeline v1.1.2 2005/06/28 B1: 27 users (mem: 106k).

.tcl set handlen
Tcl: 15

.wi lamerlamer1
[23:09:02] #KrzychuG# whois lamerlamer1
HANDLE          PASS NOTES FLAGS           LAST
lamerlamer1     yes      0 jmnoptx         23:06 (@main)
  COMMENT: Added by: KrzychuG (01.09.2005 23:03:43)
.wi lamerlamer
[23:10:50] #KrzychuG# whois lamerlamer
Can't find anyone matching that.

.relay evangeline
[23:09:32] #KrzychuG# relay evangeline
Connecting to evangeline @ arjuna.no-ip.com:8890 ...
(Type *BYE* on a line by itself to abort.)
Success!
 evangeline ...
(You can type *BYE* to prematurely close the connection.)
*** KrzychuG left the party line.
lamerlamer1
Enter your password.

*** lamerlamer joined the party line.

.status
[23:17:54] #lamerlamer# status
I am Evangeline, running Evangeline v1.1.2 2005/06/28 B1: 27 users (mem: 102k).

.tcl set handlen
Tcl: 10

.wi lamerlamer1
[23:15:49] #lamerlamer# whois lamerlamer1
HANDLE     PASS NOTES FLAGS           LAST
lamerlamer yes      0 jmnoptx         23:15 (partyline)
  COMMENT: Added by: KrzychuG (01.09.2005 23:03:43)
.wi lamerlamer
[23:16:37] #lamerlamer# whois lamerlamer
HANDLE     PASS NOTES FLAGS           LAST
lamerlamer yes      0 jmnoptx         23:15 (partyline)
  COMMENT: Added by: KrzychuG (01.09.2005 23:03:43)
Surprised?
Que?
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

I said "likely" - that they don't crash means string copying functions take care not to write past the end of their buffers, and that's all - it doesn't mean the botnet is operating correctly; and while you can apparently live with incorrect and messed up (truncated) botnet info, I suspect most other people can't, and won't - they expect, for example, when adding user LamerLamer on their HANDLEN 32 hub, that user to show up on their leaf as LamerLamer, not as LamerLame - and they expect when changing LamerLamer's flags on the leaf, that change to propagate to the hub, not to be rejected by the hub since it doesn't know of user named LamerLame
User avatar
KrzychuG
Master
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:51 pm
Location: Torun, Poland
Contact:

Post by KrzychuG »

Everything works fine. I'm using mixed botnet for about 3 months. In every action leaf with diffrent HANDLEN will cut handle. Sharing userfile, maniputaling users in userfile and any other works perfectly fine if you're doing it from higher HANDLEN hub. Sure, changing user on leaf won't do that action on hub, as you wrote but it's rather insecure and not used.
Que?
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

boy aren't you one weird egghead hehehe

I'd bet you did that so nobody would hack your leaves and take over your IRCnet channel by manipulating hub's user records from there :P

LOL
User avatar
KrzychuG
Master
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:51 pm
Location: Torun, Poland
Contact:

Post by KrzychuG »

demond wrote:I'd bet you did that so nobody would hack your leaves and take over your IRCnet channel by manipulating hub's user records from there :P
Nobody tried, but even if then i don't really care about takeovers on IRCnet ;)
Que?
J
JohnDoe
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:09 pm

Post by JohnDoe »

Hmmm sounds difficult :p
My hub is running on a 9 char handle, and the new bot im trying to connect runs on a 32 one,
in the bot config file i put the command set nick-len 9, then i tried again and still nother, still getting the msg:

Non-matching handle lengths with BOT, they use 32 characters.

So, i will try to edit the .h file and compile again.

If this dont works, is it possible to make the BOT a HUB, so the hub becomes 32 handle and link the other ones from 9 to it ?

Thanks a lot already guys
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

nick-len has nothing to do with that

don't listen to KrzychuG, he likes to live dangerously hehe; simply recompile all bots with HANDLEN 32 and forget about the issue
J
JohnDoe
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:09 pm

Post by JohnDoe »

I reinstalled the bot with handle 9, then had to remove the password and it works, thx guys :)
User avatar
KrzychuG
Master
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 2:51 pm
Location: Torun, Poland
Contact:

Post by KrzychuG »

demond wrote:nick-len has nothing to do with that

don't listen to KrzychuG, he likes to live dangerously hehe;
Otherwise my life would be to boring ;)

Btw, to allow bots with diffrent HANDLENs to connect you have to cut HANDLEN checking part in src/dcc.c on both bots.
Que?
User avatar
De Kus
Revered One
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by De Kus »

I still believe that setting the same handlen for all bots is better than cutting off the check for same handlen... you have to modify and recompile your bot in both cases. Since all you need to change in order to run on diffrent networks is nick-length I can't think of any oppurinity of having 2 bots linked with diffrent hand length. If you compile your bot with the handlen of an Angel bot, you can even establish a connection to those, so still no need for mixed handlen...
De Kus
StarZ|De_Kus, De_Kus or DeKus on IRC
Copyright © 2005-2009 by De Kus - published under The MIT License
Love hurts, love strengthens...
Locked