This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

[SOLVED] autoop by eggdrop doesn't work with anope

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
Post Reply
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

[SOLVED] autoop by eggdrop doesn't work with anope

Post by B4M »

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to this whole IRc thing and eggdrop.
But I'm facing a problem I cannot seem to solve.

I want eggdrop to autoop me when I come online. And up untill now I had no luck with it.
I've searched the forum and tried most of the solutions mentioned there.

Well, I thought they didn't work.... I'm running Unrealircd with anope. And When eggdrop connects it doesn't become op , and when I connect I don't get opped by eggdrop.
But This morning I was fiddling about with it again and I killed the anope process, and suddenly it all started working : eggdrop becomes op on connecting and it ops me as soon as I connect.

Is there somewhere you can point me , to be able to come up with a solution ?

Cheers
B4M

edit : small correction, eggdrop does only becomes an op when it enters the channel as first client (and thus becomming an op)
Last edited by B4M on Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Code: Select all

.chanset #channel need-op "ChanServ :op #channel $botnick"
This is an example to make it request ops on #channel using ChanServ.
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

thnx for relpy

Post by B4M »

OK,

I've tried your suggestion and it didn't seem to do anything, so I thought I had it wrong and changed it like this :

Code: Select all

.chanset #bbl need-op "ChanServ :op #bbl BBL-Bot"
I guess that's wrong because now every minute i'm getting slapped with an error in the DCC with my bot :

Code: Select all

BBL-Bot> [13:46] Tcl error in script for 'need-op':
<BBL-Bot> [13:46] invalid command name "ChanServ :op #bbl BBL-Bot"
<BBL-Bot> [13:47] Tcl error in script for 'need-op':
<BBL-Bot> [13:47] invalid command name "ChanServ :op #bbl BBL-Bot"
<BBL-Bot> [13:48] Tcl error in script for 'need-op':
<BBL-Bot> [13:48] invalid command name "ChanServ :op #bbl BBL-Bot"
<BBL-Bot> [13:49] Tcl error in script for 'need-op':
<BBL-Bot> [13:49] invalid command name "ChanServ :op #bbl BBL-Bot"
<BBL-Bot> [13:50] Tcl error in script for 'need-op':
<BBL-Bot> [13:50] invalid command name "ChanServ :op #bbl BBL-Bot"
Is there a way to undo this command ?

regards
B4M


edit (again) : when I start the eggdrop before I start Anope it all works fine , eggdrop gets opped and when I come online eggdrop ops me. But if anope is already running when eggdrop enters the channel , eggdrop won't get opped and when I enter the channel i'm not opped by eggdrop.
However , when I start eggdrop before anope and after eggdrop gets opped I start anope, it all work fine again. (when I enter the channel I'm getting opped by eggdrop)
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

My bad, I meant

Code: Select all

.chanset #channel need-op putserv "ChanServ :op #channel $botnick"
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

still no succes

Post by B4M »

I have put that one in and still no luck.
The bot's nick is identified :

Code: Select all

[Mar 11 15:47:03 2007] NickServ: BBL-Bot!BBL-Bot@myserver.de identified for nick BBL-Bot
But it's not getting ops... where can I check if there are errors ?

Cheers
B4M
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Are you sure that you have the correct network setting in your eggdrop.conf?
# What is your network?
# 0 = EFnet
# 1 = IRCnet
# 2 = Undernet
# 3 = DALnet
# 4 = +e/+I/max-modes 20 Hybrid
# 5 = Others
set net-type 3
If this setting is incorrect then the bot will probably not be able to realize when it needs ops. Otherwise, your bot doesn't have access to gain ops on that channel.
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

huh ?!?

Post by B4M »

I didn't have a clue that that could matter.....
To be honest I alwatys thought that those were irc network names....not network type.

But, the big question : since I'm using UnrealIrcd together with Eggdrop, it should be set to 3 ? I had it set to 0.....

But than again....The bot requests ops and get it without trouble when Anope is not running.

So my guess is : that in basic it works , it's just something that Anope does/prevents that stops the show.

Maybe I'm way off with my assumptions, please enlighten me when I am ;-)

Regards
B4M
User avatar
rosc2112
Revered One
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:36 pm
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania

Post by rosc2112 »

If I understand correctly, Anope == chanserv/nickserv, in which case, any of the chanservneed scripts found in the archive would work with minor editing. Also, check around the forum about logging in with nickserv and such. More than likely you need to do putserv "PRIVMSG :chanserv <command>" for the bot to get ops from anope/chanserv.
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Try the 'others' net-type (net type 5) and see if that works.
User avatar
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by Alchera »

Sir_Fz wrote:Try the 'others' net-type (net type 5) and see if that works.
'net-type 3' works well with Unreal.

Re Anope: putserv "PRIVMSG ChanServ :OP #channel"

Channel and nick are optional, if both are left out the bot will be opped on all channels if it has the necessary rights.

... and in eggdrop.conf >>> set opchars "@&~!"
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search | FAQ | RTM
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

access denied

Post by B4M »

Owkee,

we're getting somewhere......
The Bot is talking to Chanserv now but is getting :

Code: Select all

   *BBL-Bot*	[08:07] -ChanServ (services@service.my.host.here)- Access denied.
	*BBL-Bot*	[08:08] -ChanServ (services@service.my.host.here)- Access denied.
	*BBL-Bot*	[08:09] -ChanServ (services@service.my.host.here)- Access denied.
But at least it's trying now....lets google !! :wink:

Thnx all for the reply's
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

ok it's done

Post by B4M »

I added the bot to the AOP list , and now it's done.

Thnx all for the swift reply's :D
Cheers
B4M
User avatar
Sir_Fz
Revered One
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Post by Sir_Fz »

Sir_Fz wrote:If this setting is incorrect then the bot will probably not be able to realize when it needs ops. Otherwise, your bot doesn't have access to gain ops on that channel.
B
B4M
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:24 am

Post by B4M »

that's correct....

but up until this morning there were no access denied messages in the log file .... those started showing up after I changed the need-op line in the eggbot.conf file to

Code: Select all

need-op {  putserv "PRIVMSG ChanServ :OP #channel" }
and set opchars to

Code: Select all

set opchars "@&~!"
So I think that the need-op request wasn't ok or it was not understood by ChanServ

Regards
B4M
Post Reply