This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.

For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

First time with eggdrop

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
S
Sbarkeri
Voice

First time with eggdrop

Post by Sbarkeri »

Hi,

This is my first time using eggdrop, or any other IRC bot for that matter. I only today managed to get my eggdrop running on my WD Mybook which is running a distro of linux. I have the bot authed with Qnet and it is running fine in the channels I want it to be in. However most people seem to have their bot auto-join the channel when they go inactive, for example it will say

James is now known as James`BNC and when they log back on it will say
James`BNC is now known as James.

I presume they have the bot taking any messages for them whilst they are inactive and read them when they come back, however being compleatly new with Eggdrop I have no idea how to achieve this. All I want to do is for when I exit mIRC for my bot to become active and when I log back on for it to leave until I logoff again.

Thanks, any ideas :P
arfer
Master

Post by arfer »

Hello

I think there might be some confusion here.

A BNC (bouncer) is a completely seperate software component. Any user (including an eggdrop) can connect to IRC via a BNC rather than directly. The BNC allows them to retain a connection 24/7 because it would generally reside on an external shell and the shell owners don't deliberately switch off their equipment and go to bed. I never did see any other use for them.