This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

package require tdom

Help for those learning Tcl or writing their own scripts.
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

package require tdom

Post by falco »

Hi, I succesfull installed an eggdrop-bot on an ubuntu server.

I'm trying to install a tcl-script, but it gives me the error:

Code: Select all

[08:26:46] can't find package tdom
    while executing
"package require tdom"
    (file "scripts/omertaPrices.tcl" line 42)
    invoked from within
"source scripts/omertaPrices.tcl"
    (file "eggdrop.conf" line 1422)
I installed tdom package (as root) :

Code: Select all

apt-get install tdom
make 
make install
make tcldomsh
make install
Now I got the same error, did I do something wrong?

Thanks for the advice!
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

Post by falco »

nobody? :cry:
User avatar
caesar
Mint Rubber
Posts: 3778
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mint Factory

Post by caesar »

As a regular user (not as root, and hopefully you haven't installed the eggdrop as one) get on the shell and enter tclsh then run package require tdom and see if that works. if it doesn't then the library didn't install correctly or it's library path isn't known/recognized.

have you tried to install the library with apt-get install tdom (or with aptitude)?
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

Post by falco »

when I run tclsh as a regular user, I get: command not found

when i run that command with root: I get : 0.8.3

I installed tdom library with apt-get install tdom (as root)

How can I give my regular user access to that command and library?
P.s.: eggdrop is installed as regular user
User avatar
caesar
Mint Rubber
Posts: 3778
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mint Factory

Post by caesar »

I find that very interesting that command not found on a tclsh command, not to mention the reply when you do it as root. :roll:

What linux distribution are you using?
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

Post by falco »

I'm using ubuntu (on a vhost).
w
willyw
Revered One
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:55 am

Post by willyw »

falco wrote:when I run tclsh as a regular user, I get: command not found
...

Just for fun:

There is some command to list what you have installed. (I can't remember it/them, I'd have to google it).
Find out what version(s) of TCL are actually installed. Perhaps one is found by one kind of user, and another is not.

And once you know the version(s) numbers, try:
tclsh8.5
or tclsh_8.5
something like that, that corresponds.
I've had shells where tclsh returned 'command not found', but tclsh8.5 brought it right up.

Perhaps some of this will gain you some more clues as to what is going on.
User avatar
caesar
Mint Rubber
Posts: 3778
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mint Factory

Post by caesar »

You meant dpkg -l tcl* ? :)
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.
w
willyw
Revered One
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:55 am

Post by willyw »

caesar wrote:You meant dpkg -l tcl* ? :)
That certainly looks familiar. :)
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

Post by falco »

dpkg -l tcl* (as root) gives me:
Image

I think there might be a permissions problem on my system, because all the commands I do as default user gives me: command not found.

I'm not a linux-goeroe, so I'm not sure... :oops:
User avatar
caesar
Mint Rubber
Posts: 3778
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mint Factory

Post by caesar »

I see the tclsh on the list, so I don't get it why isn't working. Is this your server or a shell your purchased an account on?

In terminal type: lsb_release -a
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

Post by falco »

its a VPS I rent.

I installed a webserver and host a few small websites on it.

Image

In my controll-panel (ispconfig) I created a user with ssh-permissions and thats the one I use for my eggdrop.
User avatar
caesar
Mint Rubber
Posts: 3778
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mint Factory

Post by caesar »

You got some misconfiguration or some other glitch I can't put my finger on, so contact support about this issue cos you paid for this service, no?
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.
f
falco
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am
Location: Belgium

Post by falco »

I pay for the VPS yes, but I need it for my websites, so thats not a problem.

Thanks for the input, I will try to figure things out and I will join the IRC-channel if I need further assistance.

Thanks!
J
Johannes13
Halfop
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:38 am

Post by Johannes13 »

Do you use a local Tcl installation? Then installing stuff is not that easy.
Post Reply