This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

handle lengths

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
d
dropman
Voice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: Latvia, Daugavpils

handle lengths

Post by dropman »

I am using eggdrop 1.6.13 on linux system. My handle on bot has 7 chars, but one of users who joined partyline via telnet wanted to set handle of 7 chars too but on partyline he has only 6 symbols in handle. Why so ?
When i used windrop (not 32 handle length version) i saw this problem too ...
User avatar
BarkerJr
Op
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:25 am
Contact:

Post by BarkerJr »

Could he possibly be trying to use illegal characters in his new handle? Eggdrop defaults to 9 characters max, so there shouldn't be any problems.
d
dropman
Voice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: Latvia, Daugavpils

handle lengths

Post by dropman »

I used handle "astronom" but bot makes it into "astron". Maybe problem is in my telnet client (putty.exe), maybe there i need to set some options ...
Or maybe there are better telnet client than putty ?
s
spock
Master
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 8:40 pm

Post by spock »

putty should work fine - atleast it does for me.
try setting protocol to RAW (just an idea) and not telnet.

maybe astronom account already exists?
photon?
d
dropman
Voice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: Latvia, Daugavpils

handle lengths

Post by dropman »

I think there is some problem with translation/encoding. I need cyrilic encoding. When i am using dcc chat to create new user everything works and i can set hendle with 9 chars ... :-?
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

Check the putty config.

It may well be that keyboard handling can be adjusted there, and preventing errornouse characters being sent.
d
dropman
Voice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: Latvia, Daugavpils

putty config

Post by dropman »

Maybe someone can tell me what to change in putty config that my eggdrop worked well with cyrillic encoding ?
There is some problem with char "Z" in cyryllic mode, this char do not appears on partyline and other commands, eggdrop just ignores this char ...
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

May well be because this is not a value character according to the RFC.

You can only used names, as defined in the IRC RFC 1459
T
TimeLord
Voice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 7:48 am

Post by TimeLord »

How to set handle lenght to more than default 9 please ?
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

Please see the many threads on the forum. A search for the word "handlen" should bring up a fair few.
T
TimeLord
Voice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 7:48 am

Post by TimeLord »

ppslim wrote:Please see the many threads on the forum. A search for the word "handlen" should bring up a fair few.
I did what is need for increase handlen in eggdrop.h but i had one problem . It works only with +user command, not with adduser command, can u help me please ?
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

Can we try and keep things to one thread, rather than cross-posting.

Have you changed the value of nicklen int he config file?
T
TimeLord
Voice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 7:48 am

Post by TimeLord »

ppslim wrote:Can we try and keep things to one thread, rather than cross-posting.

Have you changed the value of nicklen int he config file?
yup. everythin` works fine, i can change bot`s nick up to 32 chars, .+user up to 32 chars, but .adduser still cuts handle to 9 chars.
eggie 1.6.13
p
ppslim
Revered One
Posts: 3914
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Post by ppslim »

Re-compile your bot. It seems you are using modules from a previous version, where the HANDLEN is set to 9

src/mod/irc.mod/cmdsirc.c:1022

Code: Select all

if (strlen(hand) > HANDLEN)
    hand[HANDLEN] = 0;
When using the adduser command, this will check if the handle required (after determining if you specified one, or it should use the nickname) is over HANDLEN in size.

If so, then it simply drops the rest of the data.

If you are only getting 9 chars allowed, then the check above is only using a HANDLEN of 9.

Make sue you run "make clean" before starting the compile process.
T
TimeLord
Voice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 7:48 am

Post by TimeLord »

ppslim wrote:Re-compile your bot. It seems you are using modules from a previous version, where the HANDLEN is set to 9

src/mod/irc.mod/cmdsirc.c:1022

Code: Select all

if (strlen(hand) > HANDLEN)
    hand[HANDLEN] = 0;
When using the adduser command, this will check if the handle required (after determining if you specified one, or it should use the nickname) is over HANDLEN in size.

If so, then it simply drops the rest of the data.

If you are only getting 9 chars allowed, then the check above is only using a HANDLEN of 9.

Make sue you run "make clean" before starting the compile process.
Thanx for help. I`ve heard that even numbers of eggie r stable and odds r testin` version. So i`ve recompiled it again from 1.6.12 and now everythin` works fine. Thanx again mate.
Locked