This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

cant get putquick notice to work

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
R
Reserve
Voice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:25 am
Location: Nottingham, UK

cant get putquick notice to work

Post by Reserve »

Hi all.

Im having problems using the putquick command in a script i have. I use a 1.6.17 eggdrop running on FreeBSD that monitors a remote game server and looks for the name "admin-needed" and if found it announces to my IRC channel.

The code i want to use (and that doesnt work) is

Code: Select all

putquick "NOTICE #channel-name :FOUND $name on $server"
This method did work on an earlier version of Eggdrop.

The communication with the game server is working fine and i can get the script to work correctly if i use

Code: Select all

putquick "PRIVMSG #channel-name :FOUND $name on $server"
Ive tried various combinations without success, including

Code: Select all

putquick "NOTICE \#channel-name :FOUND $name on $server"

Code: Select all

set gamechan "#channel-name"
putquick "NOTICE $gamechan :FOUND $name on $server"

Code: Select all

set gamechan "#channel-name"
putserv "NOTICE $gamechan :FOUND $name on $server"

Code: Select all

putserv "NOTICE #channel-name :FOUND $name on $server"

Code: Select all

putserv -quick "NOTICE #channel-name :FOUND $name on $server"

All of the above fail without any errors. If i specify a nick to send the notice to instead of the channel name then the notice works - but i cannot seem to get it to post to my channel. I have to use the #channel-name as the script isnt on a trigger but runs on a timer and so isnt called from a particular user or channel but the output only goes to one specific channel.

Any help or ideas greatly appreciated.

thx

Reserve
User avatar
De Kus
Revered One
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by De Kus »

All of the above except the last one are supposed to work. Have you checked the raw log of the Bot to see if and what the bot actually sends to the server?
Did you make sure nobody set chanmode +N (which usually prevents channel Notices), since last time it worked?
Have you tried to use .set errorInfo? maybe you are encountering an compatiblilty issue or you are lacking an other required TCL before the bot phrases the putquick line.
De Kus
StarZ|De_Kus, De_Kus or DeKus on IRC
Copyright © 2005-2009 by De Kus - published under The MIT License
Love hurts, love strengthens...
User avatar
awyeah
Revered One
Posts: 1580
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by awyeah »

See if privmsg is working, if notice is working or both aren't working. Restart the bot, or give it a kick from the channel and let it come back in again on some servers it can get desynched.
putquick "PRIVMSG <#channel> :<text>"
putquick "NOTICE <#channel> :<text>"
Or check this in partyline:

Code: Select all

.tcl putquick "PRIVMSG [b]<#channel>[/b] :[b]<text>[/b]"
and see what happens.

If putquick doesn't work, try replacing 'putquick' with 'putserv' or 'puthelp' and let other things be the same and then check it.
·­awyeah·

==================================
Facebook: jawad@idsia.ch (Jay Dee)
PS: Guys, I don't accept script helps or requests personally anymore.
==================================
R
Reserve
Voice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:25 am
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Reserve »

Thanks for the replies.

I tried the suggestions made and found through examining the raw logs that either the putquick commands werent being issued to the server or not being logged.

After several hours of investigation I deleted the bot dir, recompiled the bot and reinstalled the bot to a new directory. I put in the script that was giving me headaches and waited.......

i joined my game server and changed my name to 'admin needed' and waited again......

Sure enough i began receiving notices to my channel.

I never actually found out why i wasnt previously but with a freshly compiled and installed bot it seems to work with the same script. Although i would have liked to find out why it didnt work - the problem is now resolved.

Thanks for your input and suggestions.

Reserve
Locked